CCD Elects Two Members at Large on Council

I am pleased to report that the CCD Council has elected two new Members at Large to the National Council of Representatives: John Rae and Natalie Spagnuolo.  John was an incumbent Member at Large.  Natalie is new to the Council.  It is great to have John continuing on the Council and Natalie, welcome to the team!

Thanks to the outgoing Member at Large on Council May Recollet-Goulais.

As you will see from their biographies, John and Natalie bring a wealth of expertise to CCD.
~ Jewelles Smith,
CCD Chairperson

Joh Rae

I was elected as a Member at Large to CCD’s National Council in 2014 and was re-elected two years ago.

I held a number of positions within the Ontario Public Service for 24 years before taking early retirement in 2005. During my government career, I served as a Consultant with the Centre for Disability and Work, an Education Officer with the Employment Equity Commission, and prior to retirement a Program Officer with the Accessibility Directorate of Ontario.

I believe that I bring a rather unique combination of government, labour and community experience to all of my involvements. I have been an active participant in Canada's disability rights movement since 1975, am a Past President of the Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC), was co-chair of the committee that led to human rights coverage for persons with disabilities in Ontario, and have served as a Board and Committee member of numerous human rights, labour  and disability rights organizations at the local, provincial and national levels.

I previously represented the AEBC on CCD’s National Council from 2003 until 2012, and served in various capacities on the National AEBC board for 13 years, including four and a half years as its National President.

During my time with CCD, I have had the honour to serve as CCD's Treasurer, Co-Chair of CCD's Technology Committee, and 1st Vice Chair on Council.

I currently serve as 1st  Vice Chair on CCD’s Executive, Chair of CCD’s Social Policy Committee, and a member of CCD’s Human Rights and National Accessibility and Inclusion Act Committees.

I am also a Board member of Injured Workers Community legal clinic, the Steering Committee of the ODSP Action Coalition, and a member of the Canadian Human Rights Museum's Accessibility Committee.


Natalie Spagnuolo

Natalie is active in the disability movement at the local and national level and through CCD’s Social Policy Committee. Much of her advocacy and policy work has focused on experiences of disability and migration, intellectual disability, and women with disabilities. She has served as managing editor for health and disability-related peer review journals and has contributed research on a range of disability issues, producing articles, book chapters, reports, and pieces for popular publications. Over the past few years, Natalie has organized conferences, working groups, and community-based workshops. She is currently co-director of Memory, Witness and Hope/Mémoire, témoignages et espoir, a participatory, multi-modal project where English and French-speaking survivors of regional centres access supports to tell their stories with peers and the community at large.

Élection de deux administrateurs au Conseil du CCD

J’ai le très grand plaisir de vous annoncer que le CCD a élu deux nouveaux administrateurs au Conseil national des représentants :  John Rae et Natalie Spagnuolo.    John était l’administrateur sortant et Natalie est toute nouvelle.  Je me réjouis de constater que John va poursuivre son travail au Conseil et je suis ravie d’accueillir Natalie dans notre équipe !

Je remercie Marie Recollet-Goulais, administratrice sortante du Conseil.

Comme vous pourrez le constater dans leurs biographies, John et Natalie doteront le CCD de leur riche expérience.

Jewelles Smith
Présidente du CCD

John Rae

Je m’appelle John Rae.  J’ai été élu administrateur au Conseil national du CCD en 2014, puis réélu deux ans plus tard. 

J’ai occupé plusieurs postes au sein de la fonction publique ontarienne.  Et en 2005, au bout de 25 ans de services, j’ai pris une retraite anticipée.  Pendant sa carrière gouvernementale, John a été tour à tour consultant pour le Centre for Disability and Work, agent d’éducation de la Commission de l’équité en matière d’emploi et, avant sa retraite, agent de programme de la Direction générale de  l’accessibilité pour l’Ontario. 

John éclaire tous ses engagements d’une expérience gouvernementale, syndicale et communautaire unique.  Activement impliqué depuis 1975  dans le mouvement canadien de défense des droits des personnes handicapées, John a présidé l’Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC), co-présidé le comité ayant mené la campagne pour la garantie et la jouissance des droits de la personne en Ontario, a siégé à plusieurs conseils  et comités de différentes organisations locales, provinciales et nationales de droits de la personne, de représentation syndicale et de défense des droits des personnes handicapées. 

Pendant treize (13) ans, j’ai occupé plusieurs postes au Conseil national de l’AEBC, notamment celui de président pendant quatre ans et demi et, de 2003 à 2012, j’ai représenté l’AEBC au Conseil national du CCD.

Pendant mon mandat auprès du CCD, j’ai eu le privilège d’être tour à tour trésorier, co-président du Comité des technologies et 1er vice-président du Conseil.

Je suis actuellement 1er vice-président du Comité de direction du CCD, je préside le Comité de politique sociale et je siège aux Comité des droits de la personne et de la Loi nationale sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion.

Je siège au Conseil d’administration de la clinique juridique communautaire Injured Workers Consultants, au Comité de direction de l’ODSP Action Coalition et membre du Comité d’accessibilité du Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne.

Natalie Spagnuolo

Natalie participe activement au mouvement de défense des droits des personnes handicapées aux niveaux national et local ainsi que par le biais du Comité de politique sociale du CCD. Ses interventions et ses travaux stratégiques ont principalement porté sur les expériences des personnes handicapées et des migrants, sur la déficience intellectuelle et sur les femmes en situation de handicap.  Elle a été directrice-rédactrice d’un journal sur les pairs  handicapés et la santé et a participé à des recherches sur les questions inhérentes au  handicap, rédigeant des articles, des chapitres de livres, des rapports et des articles pour des revues populaires.  Au cours des dernières années, Natalie a organisé des conférences, des groupes de travail et  des ateliers communautaires. Elle est actuellement codirectrice de Memory, Witness and Hope/Mémoire, témoignages et espoir, un projet multimodal participatif où des victimes anglophones et francophones des centres régionaux d’aide à l’accès racontent leur histoire à des pairs et à communauté dans son ensemble.