Publications

CCD keeps its members and others informed by publishing reports and newsletters.

Voice of Our Own

This quarterly newsletter updates the community on the activities of CCD and its member organizations.

April 2, 2019

During Official Visit UN Special Rapporteur on Disability Rights Looking at Canada's Record on Disability

I think it is very helpful to have an external expert come and look at things on the ground. I think it will be very instructive for us and she has the ability as an independent UN expert, who is not beholding to anyone here in Canada, to say exactly what she thinks.  So, I think she will shine a light on what she considers to be areas of concern.  I will be very honest about this and say the fact that the government has invited her to do this, I think, is a sign of good faith on the part of the government, as well.  It is a sign of commitment on the part of the government to try and move things forward on the disability agenda.  Read more.

August 20, 2018

OPEN LETTER URGES PRIME MINISTER TO MAKE GOOD ON HIS COMMITMENT TO THE RIGHT TO HOUSING

At a press conference in Ottawa advocates released an open letter to Prime Minister Trudeau signed by over 170 organizations and prominent Canadians urging the Prime Minister to make good on his commitment to the right to housing by enshrining that right in upcoming National Housing Strategy legislation. Read more.

August 2, 2018

Accessibility Legislation: What the Alliance for an Inclusive and Accessible Canada Heard

The Alliance summarized its findings in a report titled “Consulting Canadians about the New Federal Accessibility Law: Final Report", prepared by Djenana Jalovcic, Ph. D.  Read more.

Chairperson's Update

In this monthly newsletter, CCD’s Chairperson shares information about the work undertaken by the National Council of Representatives, Committees, volunteers and staff.

December 21, 2018

Happy Holidays 2018

As 2018 winds down, I want to wish everyone in the disability community and our allies a happy holiday season and to encourage us all to celebrate two important milestones that have been achieved this year:

  • Canada’s accession to the Optional Protocol of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) which enables the CRPD Committee to hear complaints about rights violations from Canadians with disabilities, and
  • Bill C-81, the Accessible Canada Act, named the Canadian Human Rights Commission (CHRC) as the body responsible for monitoring the Government of Canada’s implementation of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, as called for in paragraph 2 of article 33 of the CRPD.

  Read more.

November 28, 2018

CCD Election Results - 2nd Vice Chair

CCD Council has elected a new officer to the Executive Committee: John Rae as 2nd Vice Chair. Read more.

November 26, 2018

Supporting Recognition of ASL/LSQ by Canada

CCD fully supports Deaf Canadians’ call for ASL/LSQ to be recognized as official Canadian languages, because freedom of expression is a human right. Read more.

CCD Weblog

November 12, 2018

Summary Note: Bill C-81 Parliamentary Study - Wednesday November 7, 2018

Please find a summary of the November 7, 2018 meeting of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and Status of Persons with Disabilities (HUMA). Read more.

November 12, 2018

Summary Note: Bill C-81 Parliamentary Study - Thursday October 25, 2018

Please find a summary of the Parliamentary Committee study on Bill C-81, the Accessible Canada Act. Read more.

Reports

February 14, 2017

COLLABORATION: THE KEY TO ACCESS AND INCLUSION

CCD is interested in developing an ongoing collaborative working relationship with Parks Canada that will support increased access and inclusion in all of Parks Canada's activities. Read more.

April 19, 2016

A Modernised Court Challenges Program of Canada: A perspective from the Council of Canadians with Disabilities

The Court Challenges Program of Canada (“CCPC”) is essential to ensure access to justice for persons with disabilities in accordance with article 12 and 13 of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. If persons with disabilities do not have the means to access the courts, the rights to equality guaranteed in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and in human rights legislation are hallow and meaningless. Read more.

January 29, 2016

CCD Submission to Special Joint Committee on Physician Assisted Dying

The Supreme Court of Canada in Carter emphasized that there needs to be a balanced system that both enables access by patients to physician-assisted suicide and voluntary euthanasia (PAD/VE), and protects persons who are vulnerable and may be induced to commit suicide. The Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) strongly believes that a minimal but mandatory vulnerability assessments, an independent review process with prior authorization, along with Criminal Code protection of the vulnerable are essential for this purpose.  Read more.

Publications

Le CCD publie des rapports et des bulletins pour informer constamment ses membres et d'autres particuliers/groupes.

Bulletins

Dans ce bulletin trimestriel destiné à la collectivité, le CCD fait le point sur ses activités et celles de ses organisations membres.

2 avril 2019

La Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur les droits des personnes handicapées profitera de sa visite officielle pour examiner le bilan du Canada en matière de handicap

À mon avis, qu’une spécialiste externe vienne examiner les avancées, directement sur le terrain, ne peut -être que très utile.  Ce sera très instructif pour nous car, en tant qu’experte indépendante des Nations Unies non assujettie à qui que ce soit au Canada,   elle peut dire exactement ce qu’elle pense.  Et à mon avis, elle éclairera les secteurs qu’elle jugera préoccupants.  Je vais être très honnête:  en l’invitant à le faire, le gouvernement manifeste sa bonne volonté et sa détermination à ouvrir des perspectives pour l’avancement des droits des personnes en situation de handicap.    Lire la suite.

20 août 2018

UNE LETTRE OUVERTE PRESSE LE PREMIER MINISTRE DE RESPECTER SON ENGAGEMENT ENVERS LE DROIT AU LOGEMENT

En conférence de presse à Ottawa, des défenseurs des droits de la personne ont publié une lettre ouverte signée par plus de 170 organismes et éminents Canadiens et pressant le premier ministre Trudeau de respecter son engagement envers le droit au logement en inscrivant explicitement celui-ci dans la loi visant la mise en oeuvre de la Stratégie nationale sur le logement. Lire la suite.

2 août 2018

Loi sur l'accessibilité: Voilà ce qu?a entendu l'Alliance pour un Canada inclusif et accessible

L’Alliance a résumé ses résultats dans son Rapport final :  Consulter les Canadiens sur la nouvelle loi fédérale sur l’accessibilité »,  rédigé Djenana Jalovcic, Ph. D.  Lire la suite.

Le Point du/de la président(e) du CCD

Dans ce bulletin trimestriel, le CCD expose les travaux réalisés par le Conseil national des représentants, les comités, les bénévoles et le personnel.

21 décembre 2018

Joyeuses fêtes 2018!

En cette fin d’année 2018, permettez-moi de souhaiter à tous les membres de la collectivité des personnes handicapées ainsi qu’à nos alliés de très joyeuses fêtes et de vous encourager toutes et tous à célébrer deux importants événements réalisés cette année : 

  • L’adhésion du Canada au Protocole facultatif se rapportant à la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées des Nations Unies (CDPH) qui permettra aux Canadiens handicapés de porter  plainte  pour  violation de leurs droits auprès du  Comité onusien des droits des personnes handicapées, et 
  • La désignation, dans le projet de loi C-81, Loi canadienne sur l’accessibilité, de la Commission Canadienne des droits de la personne (CCDP) comme organe chargé du suivi de l’application fédérale de la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées, tel que recommandé au paragraphe 33(2) de ladite Convention. 
     
Lire la suite.

28 novembre 2018

Résultats de l'élection du CCD - 2nd vice-président

Le Conseil du CCD a élu un nouveau directeur au Comité de direction :  John Rae devient le 2nd vice-président.  Lire la suite.

26 novembre 2018

Appuyons la reconnaissance de l'ASL/LSQ par le Canada

Le CCD  appuie sans conteste l’appel de l’ASC pour la reconnaissance de l’ASL/LSQ comme langues officielles du Canada, car la liberté d’expression est un droit humain.   Lire la suite.

Blogue

Rapports

14 février 2017

COLLABORATION : LA CLÉ POUR L'ACCÈS ET L'INCLUSION

Le CCD aimerait instaurer avec Parcs Canada une relation de travail collaborative et soutenue qui maximiserait l’accès et l’inclusion de tous les citoyens dans toutes les activités de Parcs Canada. Lire la suite.

21 avril 2016

Modernisation du Programme de contestation judiciaire du Canada : le point de vue du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences

Le Programme de contestation judiciaire du Canada (PCJC) est essentiel pour garantir l’accès à la justice aux personnes handicapées, conformément aux articles 12 et 13 de la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées. Si les personnes handicapées n’ont pas les moyens d’accéder aux tribunaux, les droits à l’égalité qui leur sont garantis par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et dans la législation sur les droits de la personne sont alors vides de sens.  Lire la suite.

29 janvier 2016

Mémoire du CCD au Comité mixte spécial sur l'aide médicale à mourir

Dans la cause Carter, la Cour suprême du Canada a souligné la nécessité d’instaurer un régime équilibré permettant aux patients d’avoir accès à l’aide médicale à mourir ainsi qu’à l’euthanasie volontaire (AMM/EV) et protégeant les personnes vulnérables de toute incitation au suicide. Le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD) croit fermement qu’un minimum d’évaluations obligatoires de la vulnérabilité, une procédure indépendante d’examen avec autorisation préalable et une garantie du Code criminel portant sur la vulnérabilité s’imposent à cette fin.  Lire la suite.