Board

CCD refers to its Board of Directors as the National Council of Representatives. The National Council of Representatives elects the CCD Executive Committee. The current CCD Executive Committee includes:

The National Council of Representatives:

  • Jewelles Smith
  • Tony Dolan
  • Pat Danforth (DABC)
  • Ian Young (ACCD)
  • Kathleen Thompson (SVOPD)
  • Eva Beaudoin (MLPD)
  • Terry Green (CWDO)
  • Monique Beaudoin (COPHAN)
  • Deborah Wood Salter (PEI Council)
  • Alexander Peeler (NSLEO)
  • Emily Christy (COD - NL)
  • Denise McKee (NWTDC)
  • Vangelis Nikias (AEBC)
  • Frank Folino (CAD)
  • Carmela Hutchison (DAWN-RAFH)
  • Roxana Jahani Aval (NEADS)
  • Ellen Cohen (NNMH)
  • Kory Earle (PFC)
  • Gregor Wolbring (TVAC)
  • Natalie Spagnuolo
  • John Rae

Executive Committee Bios

Jewelles Smith

Jewelles Smith is a strong voice for human rights in Canada. She is a feminist disability activist, scholar, writer and artist. Jewelles has received training in human rights monitoring, women's human rights justice, and methods in using legislation, policy and human rights treaties to challenge inequality. She is a PhD candidate the University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus and resides in British Columbia with her service dog, DaVinci. 

Pat Danforth

Pat Danforth has more than 30 years of governance and board experience in a wide variety of government and not for profit sectors. She is committed to embracing and leading change that makes a difference.

Pat has worked on rights based issues since becoming reliant on a wheelchair in 1970.  She has taken a leadership role with the Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD). She represents the Disability Alliance BC on CCD’s board. She also volunteers on CCD’s Transportation Committee and is a member of its Human Rights Committee.

She is a founding mother of the DisAbled Women’s Network (DAWN). Pat’s career includes work for provincial and federal governments, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission, as well as the Canadian Labour Congress. Her varied background includes the Saskatchewan Public Service Commission Board of Commissioners, Regina Health District Board, National Transportation Agency and CUPE National’s Disability Working Group. She has specialist knowledge of rights and disability issues, policies and programs.

Pat currently serves on a variety of committees including:
• BC Ferries Accessibility Advisory Committee
• Chair, Disability Alliance BC
• Transportation Committee and human rights committee
• Council of Canadians with Disabilities
• Working Group for development of Saanich Accessibility Committee
Past committee work includes Vice Chair, Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee, BC Transit and Member, Advisory Design Panel, District of Saanich.

Pat recognizes that volunteer work is essential in making a difference to the lives of people living with disabilities.


Carmela Hutchison

Carmela is 57 years old and lives with her husband, Bob, in Irricana, Alberta. Having graduated in 1983 with a diploma in nursing from Mount Royal College, Carmela has a background as a registered nurse who specialized in Mental Health. She has worked in long-term, acute, adolescent and community mental health and psychiatric settings. In 1990, Carmela sustained injuries in a rollover car accident. In 1991, she went on long-term disability after receiving a diagnosis of multiple personality (now called dissociative identity disorder or DID), depression, and post-concussion syndrome. She also lives with numerous physical conditions and uses a wheelchair. Her husband of 38 years, Bob, lives with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and seasonal affective disorder. Healthy relationships are essential to good mental health. In 1996, the year that people with disabilities finally achieved protection under the Alberta Human Rights, Citizenship and Multiculturalism Act, Carmela became involved in the mental health consumer movement.

She is President of the DisAbled Women's Network of Canada (DAWN-RAFH Canada, www.dawncanada.net). Carmela is a 2nd Vice Chair of the Executive Committee of the Council of Canadians with Disabilities (www.ccdonline.ca).

Carmela is President of the Alberta Network for Mental Health (www.anmhf.ca) and the Vice-Chair/Treasurer of the Alberta Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (www.aamimh.ca). She is member of the Alberta Disabilities Forum (ADF).

Carmela has received the 2007 Council of Canadians with Disabilities Award Contribution to the Disability Rights Movement in Canada and the 2003 Nadine-Sterling Award for Self-Disclosure and Commitment to Consumer Based Initiatives.

Carmela presents educational workshops on mental illness and disability and assists in facilitating support groups. She has made numerous media appearances; on Jun 22, 2017 Carmela was featured in 150 Canadians who STAND OUT in Standout Publications and in the 2017 film entitled Not a One-Way Street by Eva Colmers and Dr Heidi Janz aired on BravoFACTUAL in February 2018. This film has also won the 2018 Global Insights Award at the Black Maria Film Festival (https://youtu.be/AurmCO78MZM).

Roxana Jahani Aval

Roxana Jahani Aval is the Acting Chair and Ontario Director of the National Educational Association of Disabled Students. Serving as the NEADS representative to CCD, she also serves as the Secretary for the Council of Canadians with Disabilities. Roxana graduated from York University in Toronto, Ontario in 2017 with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology. She is currently pursuing a second Bachelor of Arts Degree in Human Rights and Equity Studies, concentrating on Disability Rights and Law. She wishes to pursue Law School in the years to come. During Roxana's time in university, she has been the founder and president of two leader based clubs on campus at York University. She sat on council for the Community Safety Council of York, and currently sits on the AccessYork committee, along with the Petitions Committee with the Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies. 

Frank Folino

Frank Folino was born Deaf and is a lifelong Toronto resident. He is currently President of the Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC), a not-for-profit organization that promotes the rights of Deaf Canadians who use American Sign Language (ASL) and langue des signes québécoise (LSQ). CAD-ASC is affiliated with the World Federation of the Deaf (WFD), and CAD-ASC is a United Nations-accredited Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

Frank served as member of the Interim Board of Directors for the Canadian Administrator of Video Relay Services, the new not-for-profit corporation that was mandated by the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) to design, implement and oversee the delivery of Video Relay Service (VRS) in Canada.

He currently serves in professional and leadership roles on numerous federal advisory groups in Canada. Frank represents the CAD-ASC with the Association of Visual Language Interpreters of Canada and the Council of Canadians with Disabilities. In addition, he sits on the North America Advisory Committee for the World Association of Sign Language Interpreters. He has been representing Canada at the international level with organizations such as the World Federation of the Deaf and has attended many meetings related to the United Nations on Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD).

Currently, Frank is elected as Member at Large on Executive Committee where he will bring with his diverse skills, knowledge and abilities including community outreach and engagement, advocacy, governance, change management and strategic planning and he continues to be involved with CCD’s International Committee.

Frank has received several awards over the years, from Festivals and Events of Ontario (FEO) in 2009, an organization that promotes economic tourism in Ontario; the Ontario Volunteer Service Award from the Ontario Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration in 2010, recognizing his volunteer contributions in the Province of Ontario. His most recent honour was the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in December 2012 in Canada.

Frank Folino holds an Honours Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Political Science from York University. His research fields focused on the political economy and political power in Canadian federalism.

Council Member Bios

Vangelis Nikias

Vangelis Nikias has been active in human rights and disability issues for many years. A few years ago, he worked for the Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) to raise awareness on the content of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD).  During the United Nations (UN) negotiations of CRPD, Vangelis represented the Dept. of Human Resources and Social Development Canada (HRSDC) on the official Canadian delegation as content expert.

In the 1990's, Vangelis chaired CCD's Human Rights Committee and served on the Social Policy Committee.

He has a background in adjudication - having served for nine years as vice-chair of the Ontario Social Assistance Review Board (SARB) 

Vangelis has a firm human-rights orientation and believes that the implementation of CRPD can contribute to the attainment of an inclusive and accessible Canada.  This can be achieved on the basis of genuine collaboration between Canadian governments and an aware and mobilized disability community.

He believes that the strengthening of the self-representation of persons with disabilities remains today as critical as ever.  In this context, CCD’s capacity-building efforts and leading presence takes on added significance.

Currently, Vangelis works for the Government of Canada in digital policy and accessibility.

Ellen Cohen

My experience includes participation on local board, provincial boards, national boards and committees. Using an intersectional lens my participation on this committee will highlight the impact of psycho/social disabilities across the whole disability community.

I have worked in the mental health field with consumer led organizations over two decades as an experienced facilitator and coordinator. Working in the capacity of consultant, I was developing workshops in all areas of nonprofit management and leadership, based on the individual needs of the consumer organizations.

The skills I bring are:

  • Provided expertise and support in the development of programs, and infrastructures for grassroots organizations;
  • Developed and delivered workshops, training modules and educational resources in all areas of nonprofit management and leadership.
  • Supported the implementation and policy development of a provincial strategy for mental health reform,
  • Facilitated the development and coordination of a regional network for grassroots mental health organizations in Northeast Ontario.

I am passionate about change, and looking into the future for the CCD and all of the consumer organization. I am very excited about the future and what is in store. I would like to play a larger part along the path of our community going forward.  I am confident that my knowledge and experience in community development, capacity building, networking and organizational development will be an asset to the CCD executive team.

I am the National Coordinator of the National Network for Mental Health.

Joh Rae

John Rae brings a broad combination of community, government and union involvements to all of his varied activities.

John took early retirement from the Ontario Public Service in 2005 after a 24-year career, during which time he was a Consultant with the Centre for Disability and Work, an Education Officer with the Employment Equity Commission, and prior to retirement a Program Officer with the Accessibility Directorate of Ontario.

John brought his community perspective to the Canadian labour movement where he served in elective positions at the local, provincial and national levels. Following his retirement, John remained involved as an active member of OPSEU's Disability Rights Caucus until the end of 2016.

During the past 43 years, John has been a board member of many human and disability rights organizations, including Co-chair of the Coalition on Human Rights for the Handicapped, which secured the first human rights coverage for persons with disabilities in Ontario. John is a Past President of the Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC), the Canadian Legal, Advocacy, Information and Research Association of the Disabled (CLAIR), and PAL Reading Service.

John is currently a member of the Council of Canadians With Disabilities National Council, Chair of its Social Policy Committee, and a member of its Human Rights and National Accessibility and Inclusion Act Committees.

John is also a member of the Boards of Directors of Injured Workers’ Consultants Legal Clinic and the Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians. He is also a member of the Canadian Museum on Human Rights' Inclusive Design & Accessibility Council, the Ontario Network of Injured Workers’ Groups Action Research Committee, and the Steering Committee of the ODSP Action Coalition.

In June, 2016, John was awarded the Cruickshank Medal from the Ontario Historical Society in recognition for his work in promoting greater access and inclusion in museums and art galleries.

John is also interested in building community, world travel, history, live theatre, visiting museums and art galleries, music and he writes and speaks frequently on a broad range of disability and other human rights issues.

E-mail: thepenguin@rogers.com

Natalie Spagnuolo

Natalie is active in the disability movement at the local and national level and through CCD’s Social Policy Committee. Much of her advocacy and policy work has focused on experiences of disability and migration, intellectual disability, and women with disabilities. She has served as managing editor for health and disability-related peer review journals and has contributed research on a range of disability issues, producing articles, book chapters, reports, and pieces for popular publications. Over the past few years, Natalie has organized conferences, working groups, and community-based workshops. She is currently co-director of Memory, Witness and Hope/Mémoire, témoignages et espoir, a participatory, multi-modal project where English and French-speaking survivors of regional centres access supports to tell their stories with peers and the community at large.

See past Annual Reports .

Conseil

Le CCD désigne son Conseil d'administration comme Conseil national des représentants. Ce Conseil élit le Comité de direction du CCD, à présent composé de :

 

  • Jewelles Smith, Présidente
  • Pat Danforth, Vice-présidente
  • Carmela Hutchison, Vice-présidente
  • Roxana Jahani Aval, Secrétaire
  • (  ), Trésorier
  • Frank Folino, Administrateur

 

Conseil national des représentants:

  • Jewelles Smith
  • Pat Danforth (DABC)
  • Ian Young (ACCD)
  • Kathleen Thompson (SVOPD)
  • Eva Beaudoin (MLPD)
  • Terry Green (CWDO)
  • Monique Beaudoin (COPHAN)
  • Deborah Wood Salter (PEI Council)
  • Alex Peeler (NSLEO)
  • Emily Christy (COD - NL)
  • Denise McKee (NWTDC)
  • Vangelis Nikias (AEBC)
  • Frank Folino (CAD)
  • Carmela Hutchison (DAWN-RAFH),
  • Roxana Jahani Aval (NEADS)
  • Ellen Cohen (NNMH)
  • Kory Earle (PFC)
  • Gregor Wolbring (TVAC)
  • Natalie Spagnuolo
  • John Rae

Biographies des membres du Comité de direction du CCD

Jewelles Smith

Jewelles Smith est une ardente défenseure des droits de la personne au Canada, une activiste féministe handicapée, universitaire, auteure et artiste. Elle a été spécialement formée en surveillance des droits de la personne, en justice pour les droits humains des femmes et en stratégies d’application des lois, politiques et traités des droits de la personne pour contester l’inégalité.   Cette doctorante de l’université  British Columbia, campus d’Okanagan réside en Colombie britannique avec son chien d’assistance DaVinci. 

Pat Danforth

Pat Danforth possède plus de trente (30) ans d’expérience en gouvernance et gestion de conseils dans une vaste gamme de secteurs gouvernementaux et à but non lucratif. Son but : épouser et diriger les changements provoquant une différence.

Elle s’est attaquée aux questions de droits dès 1970, lorsqu’elle s’est retrouvée en fauteuil roulant. Elle a assumé un rôle de leadership au sein du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD). Elle représente la Disability Alliance BC au Conseil national du CCD. Elle siège aussi bénévolement au Comité des transports et au Comité des droits de la personne du CCD.

Elle est l’une des mères fondatrices du Réseau d’action des femmes handicapées du Canada (DAWN-RAFH Canada). Son parcours professionnel l’a amenée à travailler plus la Commission des droits de la personne de la Saskatchewan ainsi que pour le Congrès du travail du Canada. Elle a œuvré dans divers secteurs comme le Conseil des Commissaires de la Saskatchewan Public Service Commission, le Regina Health District Board, l’Office des transports du Canada et le Comité national des personnes ayant un handicap du Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique. Elle possède une expérience aguerrie en droits, enjeux, politiques et programmes des personnes en situation de handicap.

Pat siège actuellement à divers comités :

* BC Ferries Accessibility Advisory Committee
* Présidence, Disability Alliance BC
* Comité des transports et Comité des droits de la personne
* Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences
* Working Group for development of Saanich Accessibility Committee

Elle a préalablement assumé la vice-présidence du Comité consultatif sur le transport accessible, et de BC Transit. Elle a aussi siégé à l’Advisory Design Panel, District of Saanich.

Selon Pat, le bénévolat est un prérequis pour provoquer des différences dans la vie des personnes en situation de handicap.

Carmela Sebastiana Hutchison

Carmela Hutchison, âgée de 57 ans, vit avec son mari Bob à  Irricana, Alberta. Titulaire d’un diplôme en soins infirmiers obtenu en 1983 au Mount Royal College, Carmela a travaillé comme infirmière spécialisée en santé mentale et plus particulièrement en milieu psychiatrique et communautaire, offrant des soins actifs et de longue durée aux personnes et aux adolescents ayant des problèmes de santé mentale.   Elle a été blessée en 1990 suite à accident comportant un capotage.  En 1991, après un diagnostic de personnalités multiples (actuellement trouble dissociatif de l’identité ou TDI), elle a été placée en congé invalidité de longue durée, avec dépression et syndrome post-commotionnel.    Elle se déplace en fauteuil roulant et souffre de plusieurs troubles physiques. Son mari, Bob, est atteint d’hyperactivité avec déficit de l’attention et des troubles affectifs saisonniers. C’est en 1996, l’année où la protection des personnes handicapées a finalement été garantie par l’ Alberta Human Rights, Citizenship and Multiculturalism Act, que Carmela s’est engagée dans le mouvement  des consommateurs ayant des problèmes de santé mentale. 

Actuellement présidente du Réseau d’action des femmes handicapées du Canada (DAWN-RAFH Canada, www.dawncanada.net). Carmela est aussi 2ème vice-présidente du Comité de direction  du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences  (www.ccdonline.ca).

Carmela est présidente de l’Alberta Network for Mental Health (www.anmhf.ca) et vice- présidente/trésorière de l’Alberta Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (www.aamimh.ca). Elle est membre de l’Alberta Disabilities Forum (ADF).

En 2007, Carmela a reçu le Prix du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences pour sa contribution au mouvement de défense des droits des personnes handicapées au Canada et en 2003, le Nadine-Sterling Award pour la révélation de soi et l’engagement dans des initiatives de défense des droits des consommateurs. 

Carmela présente des ateliers de formation sur la santé mentale et la situation de handicap et contribue à l’animation  de groupes d’entraide.  Elle a fait de nombreuses interventions médiatiques; le 22 juin 2017, elle a fait partie des « 150 Canadians who STAND OUT » dans le magazine STAND OUT Publications et a également participé au film Not a One-Way Street d’Eva Colmers et  du Dr. Heidi Janz  qui sera diffusé sur BravoFACTUAL en  2018.  Le film a également remporté le Global Insights Award au Black Maria Film Festival 2018 ((https://youtu.be/AurmCO78MZM)

Roxana Jahani Aval

Roxana Jahani Aval  est la présidente intérimaire et directrice pour l’Ontario de l’ Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire.  ). Elle représente d’autre part la NEADS au Conseil des canadiens avec déficiences (CCD).   Elle a obtenu en 2017 un baccalauréat ès arts en psychologie de l’université York à Toronto, Ontario.   Elle y poursuit actuellement ses études pour acquérir un deuxième baccalauréat en Human Rights and Equity Studies (droits de la personne et équité). Elle envisage d’entrer à la faculté de droit au cours des années à venir.  Elle a fondé et présidé deux clubs de leaders sur le campus de l’université York.  Elle siège au Community Safety Council de l’université York  ainsi qu’au Comité AccessYork et au Petitions Committee de la Faculté des arts libéraux et des études professionnelles.

Frank Folino

Frank Folino est né Sourd.  Résidant depuis fort longtemps à Toronto, il préside actuellement la Canadian Association  of the Deaf-Association canadienne des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC), une organisation à but non lucratif qui promeut les droits des Canadiennes et des Canadiens Sourds utilisant l’American Sign Language (ASL) et de la langue des signes québécoise (LSQ).  La CAD-ASC est affiliée à la Fédération mondiale des Sourds  et est une organisation non gouvernementale (ONG)  accréditée aux Nations Unies pour la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées.

Frank a siégé au Conseil intérimaire de l’Administrateur canadien du SRV (ACS),  un organisme à but non lucratif qui a été mandaté par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) pour mettre en œuvre un service de relais vidéo (SRV) canadien et assurer son développement, son implantation et son intégration à travers le pays.

Il occupe actuellement plusieurs postes professionnels et de leadership auprès de nombreux groupes consultatifs fédéraux au Canada.  Il représente la CAD-ASC auprès de l’Association of Visual Language Interpreters of Canada et du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences.   Il siège en outre au Comité consultatif de l’Amérique du Nord de la World Association of Sign Language Interpreters.   À plusieurs reprises, il a représenté le Canada sur la scène internationale avec des organisations comme la World Federation of the Deaf et a participé à plusieurs rencontres pour la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (CDPH).

Frank a tout récemment été élu administrateur au Comité de direction où il apportera ses diverses compétences, ses connaissances et capacités, notamment en matière de mobilisation et de participation communautaires, d’intervention, de gouvernance, de gestion du changement et de planification stratégique.  Et il maintient sa participation au Comité international du CCD.

Frank a reçu de nombreux prix au fil des ans :  en 2009, Prix des Festivals and Events of Ontario (FEO) , une organisation encourageant l’éco-tourisme en Ontario;  en 2010, le ministère de la citoyenneté et de l’immigration de l’Ontario lui a décerné le Prix du bénévole de l’Ontario, en reconnaissance de son bénévolat dans la province.  Sa plus récente distinction, la Médaille du Jubilé de diamant de la Reine Elizabeth II lui a été attribuée en décembre 2012 au Canada. 

Frank Folino a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts (BA) en sciences politiques de l’université York.  Ses domaines de recherche portent sur l’économie politique et le pouvoir politique dans le fédéralisme canadien.

Biographies des membres du du CCD Conseil national des représentants:

Vangelis Nikias

Depuis de nombreuses années, Vangelis Nikias œuvre activement dans les secteurs des personnes handicapées et des droits de la personne.  Il y a quelques années, il a travaillé pour le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD) afin de sensibiliser la population au contenu de la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (CDPH).    Lors des négociations de la Convention aux Nations Unies,  Vangelis représentait le ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement social (RHDSC) au sein de la délégation canadienne, en tant qu’expert en la matière.

Dans les années 1990, Vangelis a présidé le Comité des droits de la personne et a siégé au Comité de politique sociale.

Vangelis a acquis  une expérience en arbitrage, ayant été pendant neuf ans le vice-président de la Commission de révision de l’aide sociale en Ontario (CRAS).

Vangelis est fermement orienté vers les droits de la personne et estime que l’application de la CDPH peut contribuer à l’avènement d’un Canada accessible et inclusif.  Et pour cela, une véritable collaboration inter-gouvernementale est un prérequis au même titre que la sensibilisation et la mobilisation de la collectivité des personnes handicapées.

Il estime que la consolidation de l’autoreprésentation des personnes handicapées est plus que jamais cruciale.  Dans un tel contexte, les efforts de consolidation de capacité du CCD et son leadership apportent une valeur ajoutée.

Vangelis travaille actuellement pour le gouvernement du Canada en accessibilité et politique numériques.

John Rae

John enrichit sa participation à diverses activités d’une vaste expérience communautaire, gouvernementale et syndicale.

En 2005, John a pris une retraite anticipée de la Fonction publique de l’Ontario, après 24 ans de services dans divers postes, notamment comme consultant auprès du Centre for Disability and Work, agent d’éducation de la Commission de l’équité en matière d’emploi et, avant son départ à la retraite, agent de programme de la Direction générale de l’accessibilité pour l’Ontario.

John a éclairé le mouvement syndical canadien, où il a occupé des fonctions électives  aux niveaux local, provincial et national, de son optique communautaire.  Après sa retraite et jusqu’en fin 2016,  il est resté membre actif du Caucus des personnes handicapées du SEFPO.   .

Au cours des quarante-trois (43) dernières années, John a siégé au conseil de plusieurs organisations de droits de la personne et de droits des personnes en situation de handicap, notamment coprésident de la Coalition on Human Rights for the Handicapped qui a obtenu la première reconnaissance des droits humains pour les personnes en situation de handicap en Ontario.  John est président sortant de l’Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC), du Canadian Legal, Advocacy, Information and Research Association of the Disabled (CLAIR) et de PAL Reading Service.

John siège actuellement au Conseil d’administration du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD);  il préside le Comité de politique sociale du CCD et est membre des Comités de droits de la personne et de la Loi nationale sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion.

John siège aussi au Conseil d’administration de la Clinique juridique Injured Workers Consultants, à de l’Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC) au Comité consultatif de conception universelle du Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne.  Il est membre de l’Action Research Committee de l’ Ontario Network of Injured Workers’ Groups.  Il siège enfin au Comité directeur de l’ODSP -POSPH Action Coalition. 

En juin 2016, l’Ontario Historical Society lui a décerné la Cruickshank Medal en reconnaissance de ses efforts pour intensifier l’accès et l’inclusion dans les musées et galeries d’art.

John se passionne aussi pour la consolidation communautaire, les voyages à travers le monde, l’histoire, le théâtre, les visites dans les musées et les galeries d’art, et la musique.  Il écrit et se prononce fréquemment sur une vaste gamme de sujets touchant les personnes handicapées et les droits de la personne.  

Courriel: thepenguin@rogers.com

Natalie Spagnuolo

Natalie œuvre activement  aux niveaux local et national du mouvement de défense des droits des personnes handicapées ainsi qu’au Comité de politique sociale du CCD.  Elle concentre ses interventions et initiatives politiques sur les personnes handicapées et la migration, les déficiences intellectuelles et les femmes en situation de handicap.  Directrice-rédactrice en chef de plusieurs revues sur la  santé et pour des pairs handicapés, elle a participé à des recherches sur une vaste gamme d’enjeux touchant les personnes en situation de handicap, produisant des articles, des chapitres de livres, des rapports et des textes pour de populaires publications.    Au cours des dernières années, Natalie a organisé des conférences, des groupes de travail et des ateliers communautaires.  Elle est actuellement co-directrice de Mémoire, Témoignages et Espoir/Memory, Witness and Hope, un projet multimodal participatif où les victimes anglophones et francophones des mesures de soutien pour l’accès aux centres régionaux racontent leur vécu à des pairs et à la collectivité dans son ensemble.