Federal Disability Act Archives

Federal Disability Act

November 6, 2016

Consulting with Canadians on Planned Accessibility Legislation

The Government of Canada is seeking your ideas to inform the development of planned accessibility legislation. Read more.

October 31, 2016

Youth with Disabilities Advise on the Creation of an Accessible and Inclusive Canada

At the National Youth Forum, Natalie Spagnuolo, a member of the Council of Canadians with Disabilities' (CCD) Social Policy Committee, will provide recommendations on where the Government of Canada should provide leadership to improve opportunities for participation by people with disabilities as it moves forward with promised accessibility legislation. Read more.

October 30, 2016

Advertisement - Project Manager

The Council of Canadian with Disabilities (CCD) is seeking a Project Manager. CCD is the lead organization on a multi-agency research collaborative, The Alliance, whose purpose is to consult Canadians on the Development of Federal Accessibility Legislation. Read more.

October 20, 2016

6 Things to Keep in Mind When Talking about Federal Accessibility Legislation

The federal Government plans to pass an accessibility act to make Canada more inclusive and, until March 2017, it will be consulting Canadians about the legislation through a survey and in-person consultations.  6 key points to emphasize at consultations are:  1. Use the act to implement the CRPD, 2. NOTHING ABOUT US WITHOUT US, 3. Name the Act: the National Accessibility and Inclusion Act, 4. Focus on federal issues, 5. An Act must have teeth to remedy barriers, so it must deliver more than voluntary standards and awareness raising activities, 6. Strong measures to support implementation.  Read more.

October 13, 2016

What does an Accessible Canada mean to you?

In-person consultation sessions are taking place across Canada to inform the development of planned accessibility legislation. All Canadians are encouraged to take part in the consultation process, either by attending an in-person session or by participating in the online consultation.  Read more.

Archives

Loi fédérale pour les personnes handicapées

6 novembre 2016

Consulter les Canadiens au sujet d'une loi prévue sur l'accessibilité

Le gouvernement du Canada veut connaître vos idées afin d'orienter l'élaboration de cette nouvelle loi. Lire la suite.

31 octobre 2016

Pour un Canada accessible et inclusif : les recommandations des jeunes en situation de handicap

Natalie Spagnuolo, membre du Comité de politique sociale du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD), recommandera au gouvernement du Canada,  dans ses avancées vers la loi promise sur l’accessibilité, d’exercer son leadership dans des secteurs  précis et ce,  afin d’optimiser la participation des personnes en situation de handicap. Lire la suite.

30 octobre 2016

Publicité : Chef de projet

20 octobre 2016

6 POINTS À NE PAS OUBLIER QUAND VOUS PARLEZ DE LA LOI FÉDÉRALE SUR L'ACCESSIBILITÉ

Le gouvernement fédéral envisage d’adopter une loi sur l’accessibilité afin de rendre le Canada plus accessible et plus inclusif.  Jusqu’en mars 2017, il consultera les Canadiens à ce sujet par sondage ou en personne.  Voici cinq points cruciaux à ne pas oublier pendant ces consultations :  1. Utiliser la Loi pour appliquer la CDPH ; 2.  RIEN POUR NOUS, SANS NOUS ; 3.  Nommer la loi :  Loi nationale sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion.  4.  Se concentrer sur les enjeux fédéraux;  5.  Cette Loi doit avoir du mordant pour éliminer les obstacles et non pas se contenter de prévoir des normes volontaires et des activités de sensibilisation ; 6 vigoureuses  mesures pour consolider la mise en vigueur. Lire la suite.

13 octobre 2016

Qu'est-ce qu'un Canada accessible pour vous?

Des séances de consultation en personne ont lieu dans l’ensemble du Canada afin d’orienter l’élaboration de la loi prévue sur l’accessibilité. Tous les Canadiens sont invités à participer au processus de consultation, que ce soit en assistant à une séance publique en personne dans leur région ou en répondant au sondage en ligne.  Lire la suite.